Posted by: Andy | October 22, 2009

Daylight Savings Time

I’m not sure why, but every time Daylight Savings Time began or ended, my mom always made sure to call me when I was at college and even afterward.  Unfortunately, I don’t think she’ll be able to this year.  Not to mention, she’d probably have the wrong date.

There are plenty of things you don’t think about as you prepare to move to a new country.  One of those is “Do they participate in Daylight Savings?”  The answer in regards to Turkey is, “Yes, they do.”  However, Daylight Savings Time here ends one week earlier than in the US, so this Sunday we will be “falling back” one hour, one week before the US.  What does this mean?  This means that we’ll only be seven hours ahead of central time in the states for a whole week.

This also means that the one game of the Minnesota Vikings that is televised here is at 7pm not 8pm as it would be any other week of the season.  But come November 1, we’ll be back to eight hours ahead of central time in the US.

It’s also interesting to note that in the US, we repeat the hour of 1am-2am, meaning we fall back at 2am.  In Turkey they repeat the 3am-4am hour, falling back at 4am on Sunday, October 25.

So my mother has taught me well to always keep an eye out for when the clocks change and now that I’m thousands of miles away and won’t get the reminder call, it’s perhaps the only time that I’ll actually miss getting that call.

Responses

  1. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by C3POJones: Turkish Daylight Savings Time? http://bit.ly/oOZMZ

  2. […] relied on my mother to remind me to change my clocks when time changes came.  I wrote about it here almost a year and a half […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

