Posted by: Andy | January 19, 2010

Studio Recording

In recent weeks I’ve been helping out at a recording studio here in Ankara.  It’s pretty simple work.  I simply read various parts of a script that they give me which are filled with random English conversations.  The tracks are then sent to Turkey’s Ministry of Education for approval.  They are usually sent back with notes to change certain things, then I get a call to come back in and re-record.

All in all it’s pretty simple work.  I generally just use my natural speaking voice, but there are times when a bit more acting is called for.  I once had to pretend to be a 13-year old boy, that wasn’t so easy.  I’ve also had to feign a  British accent more than once, which isn’t the easiest thing in the world.

But I think the most fun of these conversations was when I did a monologue of weather predictions and put on my best weatherman’s voice.  It was really more of a football announcer voice, but I thought that was rather appropriate.

In the Studio

In the Studio

Most of the conversations are rather cheesy and the English can be a bit rough, but doing voiceovers has always been something I’ve been interested in doing, so I quite enjoy it.  There’s been talk of doing some more complicated recording, actually reading stories and whatnot, but that may be a long ways off into the future.

I found out after going a few times that the studio actually is owned by one of my student’s father and his uncle, which made the relationship I am building there all the more meaningful.  I had my fifth session last night before class.  Hopefully there will be many more to come.

Responses

  1. That’s so cool, Andy! Good for you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

