Posted by: Stephanie | November 22, 2010

Making Friends IRL

If any of you knew me in Minnesota, you know I was involved with Social Media Breakfast – MSP, where I met some of the coolest people ever – first on Twitter, then in real life. Making connections online isn’t anything new to me but when we moved to Turkey, I wasn’t sure how that was going to continue to play out in my life.

Sheep being led to be sacrificed

Last week was the celebration of Kurban Bayram in Turkey, a Muslim holiday celebrating when God spared Abraham’s (Ibrahim’s) son (for those interested, Christians believe God spared Isaac, Muslims believe he spared Ishmael).  Kurban Bayram is a 4-day holiday, and fell so that most people had 9 days off, including us. We took the opportunity to get out of Ankara and explore Turkey a bit more. Over the last year, I’ve come in contact with a travel blogger/couple down in Fethiye, down on the south coast of Turkey, so we decided to pay them a visit and meet them in real life.

It was fabulous. I love meeting new people, and I love when I can finally meet people in reality when I’ve only known them virtually. The couple we met were wonderful hosts – they are British expats living in Turkey, but they still knew how to avoid the expat-traps and showed us more of the local flavor of Fethiye and surrounding areas. In the days we had there, we visited a Greek ghost-village that’s been abandoned since the 1920s, one of the most famous beaches in Turkey and relaxed along the sea with beer and new friends.

As a native Minnesotan, Ankara doesn’t contain nearly enough bodies of water for me (read: not really any) so a couple days down on the coast was magic to my water soul. As a digital native, meeting and connecting with people was wonderful.

If you’re planning a trip to Turkey, I highly recommend a visit down to the coast. And take me with.

Responses

  1. And good when those ‘virtual friends’ turn out to be nice. 🙂 Hope you get to see more bodies of water soon….


Leave a Reply

Categories

